top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Mutter Paneer (Green peas and Indian cheese in gravy)

Updated: Feb 14, 2021

Growing up this used to be my favorite dish. I used to ask amma to make it all the time. If given a choice I could have it everyday! Haha.


Om is the same. He asks for paneer everyday! Traditional recipe is a bit different. To make it easier for me, I have modified it a bit and it tastes equally good.


You can make it in any pan/skillet on stove top. But since I LOVE my Instant Pot (IP) so much, I choose to make it in that. Just using its sauté mode. This way I just have to clean one pot and don’t have to wipe down my stove top. I know!! Talk about cutting corners. Haha!


You will need:


Oil:

1 tbsp oil (olive/canola/vegetable) for paste

1 tbsp oil (olive/canola/vegetable) for the main dish


Ground masala:

1 large onion chopped

1 large tomato chopped

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

4-5 cashews

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp red chilli powder

1 tsp coriander powder

1/2 tsp garam masala

1/2 tsp amchur powder (dry mango)

1/2 cup water


Aromatics:

1 inch cinnamon

1 bay leaf

2 pods cardamom

1 star anise (optional)


Main veggie and protein:

14 oz packet paneer cubed

1 cup green peas (I used frozen)


Gravy:

1/2-1 cup water to adjust consistency of gravy

1/2 cup milk (optional- to make it creamier)

Salt per taste


I skip using cream, instead I use milk for a healthier version.


Garnish:

1 tbsp kasoori methi

cilantro chopped


Method:


Heat oil in IP in sauté mode. Add all the ingredients for ground paste except water. Let the veggies get sautéed well and seasonings/masala mix in well leaving the raw smell. Then transfer this to a grinder (I used my Ninja). Add water to this and grind to a paste.


Add oil again to the main IP pot. Add the aromatics. Sauté till they turn aromatic. Add in the ground paste to this. Keep mixing it till it comes to a boil. Add in the paneer and peas. Add milk and water to adjust consistency for gravy. Add salt per taste. Crush some kasoori methi with hands and mix it in for that wonderful aroma. Garnish with cilantro.


ENJOY!



We had it with rotis and cucumber raita (shredded cucumber mixed with yoghurt). Before you applaud my perfectly round rotis, these were made by my Rotimatic! I LOVE it. All I need to do is to make my sides and rotis just come out of this Rotimatic. It is a savior on those busy weeknights!




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page