top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Palak Paneer (Indian cheese in spinach gravy)

Growing up I must say this was my least favorite types of paneer dishes. Not because I didn't like spinach but just something was off about this dish. After becoming a mom, I wanted to incorporate this dish in my kids lives given this has boat load of spinach in it but yet wanted to make it more tasty. Hence I came up with my own version of it with a twist.

This is one of the paneer dishes that I often make at home. Om likes to call it "green paneer".


Nothing about this recipe is traditional. The ingredients or the method of cooking. Once again I make it with my kitchen gadgets that make my life super easy and this is literally ready in 5-10 minutes!


You will need:




Oil:

1 tbsp oil (olive/canola/vegetable)


Ground masala and gravy:

1 large shallot or one small onion chopped

1 medium-large tomato chopped

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp red chilli powder

1 tsp coriander powder

1/4 tsp garam masala

1/2 tsp amchur powder (dry mango)


Aromatics:

1 inch cinnamon

1 bay leaf


Protein:

14 oz packet paneer cubed

(You can substitute this with tofu for a vegan version)



Gravy:

4 cups spinach (I used 5oz pack of baby spinach)

11/2 -2 cups water

salt per taste



Method:



Heat oil in Instant Pot (IP) in sauté mode. Saute onions till they are translucent. Add in the tomatoes and ginger garlic paste. Saute for a bit. Add in the turmeric, chilli powder, coriander powder, garam masala and amchur powder, saute till they turn aromatic. Now add in the spinach. Saute till they wilt.


TIP:

DO NOT overcook the spinach. It will take away the nutrients and will not retain that bright green color.


Now add the water as per your desired gravy consistency. At this stage either you can take this mixture out and grind it in you blender and add it back to your IP. Or I like to just use my hand blender that I use to make my soups. This way I need not go through the hassle of transferring in and out of IP. You can grind it to your desired texture. I don't like to grind it too smooth. I like the grainy texture of spinach in my mouth.


Add in the salt and give it a mix. You can add paneer and aromatics at this stage. Cook for may be a minute or two. DO NOT overcook the spinach gravy as mentioned before.


You can serve this with rotis or rice.


ENJOY!








31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page