top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Veggie Calzone

I started making calzones when I got tired for making pizzas out of store bought pizza dough. My husband, Simha always craves for a "Pod" from his favorite restaurant named Pizza Plant in Buffalo, NY, which is their kind of Calzone. So this gave me an excuse to try this out. And of course recently when my sister Aruna made mini calzones for her son Avyakt's birthday party, I had to be inspired!


Preheat your oven to 450 °F


A tip to handle a store bought dough. Do not remove the dough from the plastic bag instead remove the plastic bag from the dough. Basically avoid breaking the air bubbles from the fermented dough.

Coat the dough with some flour and set it out for sometime till you get other things ready.

Chop your veggies:


1 shallot

1/4 green pepper

2 mushrooms

1/4 cup of frozen corn


And:

1/2 of a small can of slices black olives


Saute the veggies in 1 tsp of olive oil and add the following seasonings:

Salt

Pepper

Red chilli flakes

Oregano

Onion powder

Garlic powder

After the veggies are slightly tender but not all the way cooked (still maintaining their crunchiness), add pasta sauce (I used store bought) just to mildly coat the veggies.


I like to flatten the dough with my hands and place it on slightly greased pan with olive oil. Then add a small amount of shredded mozzarella on the lower half of the dough.

Top it up with the veggies and cover with some more cheese.

Fold it over and close the edges as beautifully as you can! Top it off with flax seeds and make some pokes with fork.

Bake the calzone for 10-12 minutes depending on your oven.


Slice this up and ENJOY!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page