top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Blueberry Banana Bread

Updated: Jan 11, 2022

This is one our regulars at home. It also comes in handy as a snack or for packing lunches. I just realized that I never posted this recipe which was a surprise to me because I bake this almost every week if not every 2 weeks. Also this is perfect when you have those over ripe bananas left over and you don't really know what to do other than freezing some for your yummy smoothies.


This recipe is once again inspired from one of my favorite blogs "Divine taste by Anushruti" which has tons of yummy eggless recipes. I have just modified it to make it vegan. And since my kids LOVE blueberries more than chocolate, I have added them instead of chocolate chips in the bread.


You will need:



Wet ingredients:

banana puree (from 4 small or 3-4 medium sized bananas)

1/2 cup oil (vegetable/canola or others per your preference)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract


Option: You can use 1/2 cup vegan butter instead of oil as well


Dry ingredients:

1 cup sugar (I used brown, you can use cane/coconut sugar too)

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda


Add ins:

1 cup fresh blueberries (you can use 1/2 cup as well)


Option: If you want to make banana chocolate chip bread, you can use 1/2 cup chocolate chips instead of blueberries


Method:




Preheat the oven at 350°F.


First puree the bananas in a blender.


Add the pureed bananas in a bowl. Add in rest of the wet ingredients. To this add the sugar and mix well. Then sieve in rest of the dry ingredients. You can mix all this by hand or by using a hand mixer. Add in the blueberries and give it a stir.


Now transfer this bread batter to a greased bread pan. Bake it at 350°F for 40-45 minutes.

What I have realized is that my oven is quite strong. Most of the stuff gets baked 5-10 minutes earlier that the original recipes. The original recipe says 45 minutes and up to an hour! So I suggest check the bread at around 40 minutes and keep it longer based on your oven!


Once it is done, let it cool on a wire rack before slicing them.


ENJOY!






66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page