top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Green peas coconut milk soup

Updated: Jan 25, 2021

When I came to US, my first experience of tasting new recipes was at my sister Aruna’s place. She and her husband Naren are great cooks. The time I came for my residency interviews it was fall/winter season and perfect time for some hearty soups. Naren would make wonderful soups, one of my favorite ones being the green peas soup. I just started experimenting adding other ingredients to this based on what I would read in other blogs. This is inspired by his soup and a similar soup that saw in “Green Kitchen Stories”.


You will need:


Oil:

1 tbsp olive/vegetable/canola


Aromatics:

1/2 onion chopped

2 pods garlic chopped (optional)


If you dont feel like chopping veggies, skip both and just add them as seasonings (onion and garlic powder!)


Main veggie:

1 cup green peas (I used frozen)


You can use more peas as well. 1.5-2 cups. Soup will be more green and it will be a bit more sweet.


Fresh herb (optional)

oregano (I had from my Gardyn)


Seasonings:

salt

black pepper

onion powder

garlic powder

red chilli flakes

thyme

oregano


Soup base:

1 14oz can coconut milk

1 cup vegetable broth


Toppings:

Fresh greens (like spinach, kale, mustard greens)


Method:



Heat oil in Instant Pot (IP) in saute mode. Add the aromatics and the peas. Saute for bit. Add in the soup base ingredients and seasonings. Add the fresh herbs. Close the IP lid and set the valve to sealed position. Cook at manual high pressure mode for 1 minute. Wait for natural pressure release. Add fresh greens to this. Mix well, it cooks in that heat itself.


Garnishing options:

drizzle some more coconut milk/

pepita seeds/

sunflower seeds/

cashews



ENJOY!



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page