top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Instant Pot Rice

Updated: Jan 25, 2021

You would think why do I bother to write a recipe for cooking rice. This is probably the easiest thing to make. But with Instant Pot (IP) things get easier. Over a period of time I have understood the exact proportions of rice/water ratios, cooking time, that are needed for different cuisines. Also when it comes to doing one pot meals to save time, I often end up utilizing "pot in a pot" method. So that I can make multiple things at a time. I will explain that as I go along.



So first of all ratio that you need:

For North Indian, South Indian (mixed rice), Asian, Mexican cuisines typically one needs 1:2 rice to water ratio.

For South Indian cuisines, where one needs a mushier consistency of rice like when you have it with sambar/ rasam you will need 1:3 rice to water ratio.


Time and Mode:

Manual high pressure mode for 6 minutes with the valve in a sealed position.

Wait for natural pressure release.

I seldom use rice mode.





Pot in a pot method:

Majority of the time I end up using this method. So that I can cook rice and other grains/ lentils at the same time. Like making rice and lentil for sambhar/rasam, rice and kidney beans for rajma, rice and garbanzo beans for chole etc.

Sometimes I make it in a separate pot just so that I can take it out and use the IP for making my curries like no recipe vegan curry, red thai curry, green thai curry etc.


For example today I cooked red kidney beans and rice at the same time in my IP. They were stacked on top of each other. I set up the IP for a longer cook time to cook my kidney beans but that also cooked my rice, WITHOUT overcooking it! So there you go, saves time and dishes!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page