top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Methi Malai Mutter Paneer (fenugreek leaves, Indian cheese and peas in gravy)

Growing up Amma would usually make mutter paneer or palak paneer. Methi malai mutter was a dish that we would get when we would go out for dinner at restaurants or during some wedding/special events. Since being a mom to a paneer LOVING son, I started making different kinds of paneer dishes. This being one of them. Especially since I can incorporate extremely nutritious fenugreek leaves in the recipe. And for my Amma who likes to avoid tomatoes, this is a perfect no tomato, delicious yet healthy paneer recipe.


Om typically calls this as "white paneer" since the gravy looks white. He refers to mutter paneer as "orange paneer" and palak paneer as "green paneer"! Usually the day before I get menu ordered by him as to which paneer he would like to have for dinner! Haha


You can make it in any pan/skillet on stove top. But since I LOVE my Instant Pot (IP) so much, I choose to make it in that. I will give instructions for both.


You will need:



Oil:

1 tbsp oil (olive/canola/vegetable) for paste

1 tbsp oil (olive/canola/vegetable) for the main dish


Ground paste

1 large onion chopped

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

5-6 cashews

1/2-1 jalepeno or 1-2 green chillies

water for grinding


Aromatics:

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 inch cinnamon

1 bay leaf

2 pods cardamom


Main veggie and protein:

2 cups methi/fenugreek leaves chopped (make sure to wash the leaves very well)

14 oz packet paneer cubed

1 cup green peas (I used frozen)


Gravy:

1/2-1 cup water to adjust consistency of gravy

1/2 cup milk (optional, to make it creamier)


I usually don't use cream, instead I use milk for a healthier version.


Seasonings:

1 tsp sugar (I used coconut sugar)

1/2 tsp garam masala

Salt per taste


Method:



Heat oil in IP in sauté mode. Add all the ingredients for ground paste except water. Let the veggies get sautéed well leaving the raw smell. Then transfer this to a grinder (I used my Ninja). Add water to this and grind to a paste.


Add oil again to the main IP pot. Add the aromatics. Sauté till they turn aromatic. Add in the ground paste to this. Keep mixing it till it comes to a boil. Add in the methi/fenugreek leaves, paneer and peas. Add milk and water to adjust consistency for gravy. Add seasonings.


Cover the IP lid and set valve to sealed mode. Cook at manual high pressure for "0" ZERO minutes. Wait for natural pressure release.


Note:

If making in skillet, you can apply all the same steps. For the last part, just cover it with a lid and let it cook for 5 minutes.


Serve it with roti/naan/rice.


ENJOY!




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page