top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Vegan Thai Green Curry

This is one of my many go-to weeknight meals. I first got introduced to these yummy thai curries through Aruna. She would make these at her place and I would be surprised how quickly she fixed an amazing dinner for all us! And left overs worked so well as lunches too!


Now through these years I have modified the recipe further to make it in my Instant Pot (IP). Which is just a 1 MINUTE recipe! Yes you read that right!!


You will need:



Oil (optional):

1 tbsp olive/canola/coconut/vegetable


Seasonings:

2 tbsp Thai green curry paste(I used Thai kitchen brand, any vegan/vegetarian brand would work)

salt per taste

1 tbsp agave syrup(or you can use 1 tbsp brown sugar)

lime juice (from 1/2 lime)


Veggies:

1/4 red pepper diced

1/4 orange pepper diced

1/4 yellow pepper diced

1/4 green pepper diced

1 carrot sliced

1 cup cauliflower florets

1 cup mushrooms sliced


greens (I used tatsoi from my Gardyn, you can use spinach/kale/bok choy)


Honestly you could use any veggies that you have at home. Other options like zucchini, squash, parsnip, broccoli, asparagus or eggplant. Any one of these would work well.


Protein:

14oz pack tofu diced


Nuts (optional):

6-8 cashews (whole/broken)


Herbs (optional):

1/2 cup Thai/sweet basil (I used from my Gardyn, just brings in an amazing aroma)


Curry base:

14oz can coconut milk

2 cups vegetable broth


Garnishing (optional):

cilantro chopped


Method:




Heat oil in saute mode in IP. Add the Thai curry paste. Let it saute for a bit. Add in the coconut milk. Whisk them together to get rid of all lumps. Add the broth at this stage. Followed by veggies, tofu, cashews, Thai basil, salt and agave syrup. Mix well. Close the IP lid and set the valve to sealed position. Cook at manual high pressure for 1 minute. Then do a manual quick release. Add the lime juice, greens and cilantro. Mix well (the greens will cook in that heat itself).


TIP:

If you want to keep this in IP in the morning and leave for work. If you end up going for natural pressure release, that is also fine. The veggies might be a bit more mushy.


Serve it with your choice of grain (white rice, brown rice, quinoa, cracked wheat or a combination of any).


I usually make my rice in a "pot in a pot method" first. I take that out and then make the curry in the same IP main pot. You can check out rice recipe in my blog as well.


ENJOY!




23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page