top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Vegetable Paniyaram

Updated: Jan 25, 2021

Growing up amma mostly made idli, dosa, utthapam. Usually she would grind the batter for idli which would then go on to dosa and then to uttapam (depending on how much fermentation occurs). Now recently after having kids, my friends Neha and Emaya introduced me to the " aeblseskiver pan" meant for those special pancakes. I had seen my sister Aruna use her paniyaram pan to make her yummy "lauki kofta" instead of deep frying for a healthier version. This made me buy one of these pans finally. And since then I have not regretted having this pan. I make paniyarams, cute little pancakes and I am yet to try out Aruna's koftas in them.


You can have them as dinner, breakfast or a snack. Kids LOVE them! And adding the veggies brings in the color and makes it more nutritious.


You can use either home made or store bought idli/ dosa batter. And add the veggies and salt.

Veggies that you need:

1 shallot chopped

4-5 curry leaves chopped

2 tbsp of cilantro chopped

1 small carrot- shredded

Add salt (based on if the batter already has salt or not) and mix

Then heat up your paniyaram or aebleskiver pan on your stove top

and slightly grease it with oil.


Add the prepared batter into each slot and cover with a lid.

Cook on each side for about 7 min on medium flame.

You could eat this plain or with any chutney/ sambhar/ yoghurt. Enjoy!


Note: I will add a recipe for home made idli/ dosa batter soon in my blog. But basically it is a combination of ural dal and rice (1:3 ratio) soaked overnight, ground and fermented overnight.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page