top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Yoga pot

Updated: Jan 19, 2021

This delicious recipe came into our lives when I was pregnant with Om during my first year of fellowship. That is when my friend Emaya introduced me to Green Kitchen Stories. Amazing blog! This was a one pot meal that I could make and was so wholesome, nutritious and satisfying.


I modified this recipe a bit to suit our tastebuds and to incorporate the kitchen tools that make our lives easy!

This is typically a meal that I make on my busy endoscopy days. I dump all the ingredients in my Instant Pot (IP) and come back to a yummy dinner! Left overs taste good for lunch as well. You could have this just like a soup or with grains like couscous/quinoa. The first time I ever made this, we had it with a side of couscous (only because it literally takes a minute to cook couscous). And since then that is how Simha likes it :) Also Ekaa loved this as one of her first solids as a baby!


Now let us get to the ingredients that you need:



Veggies:

1 shallot chopped

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 inch of ginger- chopped

1 zucchini chopped

1/4 red pepper chopped

1/4 green pepper chopped

1/4 yellow pepper chopped

1 small broccoli into florets

1 small carrot chopped


Some greens to top it off if you want (I used kale, red and green mustard and tatsoi from my Gardyn, you could use spinach or any other greens of your choice)

Just look at this beauty. How could I not add this to my yoga pot!



cilantro/ dill for garnishing (once again from my Gardyn)


1 15 oz can of diced tomatoes (no salt added)


Protein:

1 block of tofu- diced


1 15 oz can of garbanzo/ cannellini/ butter beans (no salt added)


Today I used garbanzo beans that I cooked in IP (without presoaking for 40 minutes in high pressure manual mode and natural pressure release, you could presoak it and reduce the time as well)


1/2 cup of red lentils


2 cups of vegetable broth (low sodium) or till it covers the ingredients in IP


Seasonings:

salt

black pepper

dried oregano (optional)

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp cumin powder

1 tsp rasam powder (optional, you can get it in Indian stores)



Method:



In saute mode of IP, heat up 1 tbsp of olive oil. Add in the aromatics (shallots, garlic, ginger). Saute till shallots become translucent and ginger, garlic turn brownish. Add in rest of the veggies other than greens and garnishing herbs. Add in the seasonings. Mix well. Then add canned tomatoes, beans, washed lentils, vegetable broth and tofu. Cover the lid and turn it to sealed position. Set it in manual high pressure mode to 3 minutes and wait for natural pressure release.




Mix in the fresh greens. Add the herbs for garnishing.


Or you could simply just dump in all the ingredients if you are in a hurry and it has the same results! Trust me, I have done that too. Haha!


You could also make it on stove top. It would just take a bit longer.


Serve it as a soup or with a side of couscous.

You can check out how to make couscous in my blog as well.


ENJOY!







101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page