top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

African Pot

Updated: Jan 25, 2021

My introduction to this amazing dish was in one of the journal clubs hosted by my Program Director at his house. Dr. Marshall was quite inclined towards cooking and trying out various different cuisines. We would often have yummy food while having serious discussions on bowel disorders during these journals clubs. I know that sounds gross to many of you, but for us Gastroenterologists this is quite normal! Haha


This is a perfect recipe for a busy weekday. Left overs serve well as lunches too! It is almost like a dump and go (not literally) recipe in Instant Pot (IP); my FAVORITE thing that I have in my kitchen. You could also make it on stove top. But if you do not have an Instant Pot yet, I HIGHLY recommend it!





This is all you need for this recipe:

Prep up your veggies (to be honest, I usually cut the veggies as I go along and keep adding them into my IP, saves me a lot of time)


1 shallot- minced

2-3 pods of garlic- minced

1/2 inch of ginger- minced/ sliced/ crushed

1 large tomato- cubed (optional, my amma does not fancy tomatoes so I have made this without it and it tastes equally good)

1 sweet potato- peeled and cubes

2 cups of cut okra


Turn on the saute mode on IP. Add 1 tsp of olive oil.

Saute the veggies. Preferably the aromatics (onion, ginger, garlic) first, then tomatoes, then sweet potato and okra. And if you don't follow this order, it is still ok. You could simply just add the veggies all at once! Wouldn't really change the taste.


Add the spices:

Cumin powder- 2 tsp

Red chilli powder- 1/2 tsp

Turmeric- 1/2 tsp (I am Indian, I add this pretty much to everything and it is anti- inflammatory)


Saute for a bit, let the spices coat the veggies and your IP turns aromatic!


Then add

1 can of Garbanzo beans

4 cups of vegetable broth (you can use water too)

Basically to cover the veggies and beans.


And lastly salt (about 1 tsp or per your taste)- I usually like salt on lower side

Close the IP lid and put it on sealed position. Now switch from saute mode to manual high pressure mode and set for 3 minutes. Wait for natural pressure release. Or if you have done this in the morning before you head out to work, you will come home to a wonderful meal!


You can choose to garnish it with herbs like cilantro/ parsley/ dill etc.


I had some fresh cilantro and dill from my Gardyn that I used to garnish.



Since I had this with couscous for the first time, we usually have it like that. But you can chose to have it just like that as a soup. You can check out how to prepare couscous in my blog as well.



Now time to enjoy this sumptuous meal!


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page