top of page
  • anjanasathyamurthy

Vegetable Pulao

This is a type of North Indian rice recipe that can be eaten as it is or with a side like raita or vegetable curries. It is one of my favorite, quick and easy meals that I can make for dinner or pack as lunches. I also make it as a part of an elaborate North Indian spread as well. The beauty of this pulao is that you can play with its ingredients and make it with whatever veggies that you have in hand.


Amma used to make this quite often after my sister left for college and when my father used to be out of town. For the two of us, this would be a quick, yummy meal that both of us would relish and enjoy! We would usually have it with cucumber raita.


Like all my other meals, I enjoy making this in my Instant Pot (IP), which literally takes 6 minutes to cook. And sometimes I can just dump everything in the IP and leave for work and come back to a yummy dinner!


With me being vegan and rest of the family being vegetarian this works out very well for all of us. They can have it with any side of their choice and I can enjoy it with some vegan yogurt!.


You will need:



Oil:

1 tbsp oil (canola/vegetable)- you could use ghee (if vegetarian)


Seasoning:

1 tsp cumin seeds

3-4 cloves

1 star anise (optional)

1-2 bay leaves

1-2 inches cinnamon stick

1 tsp crushed black pepper (optional)

1 tsp ground cinnamon (optional)- I like to use both stick and ground spice

salt per taste


Aromatics (optional):

1 shallot or 1/4 onion sliced

2 garlic pods sliced

1 inch ginger sliced


Vegetables:

1 carrot chopped/sliced/cut in whichever way you would like

3-4 large cauliflower florets, coarsely chopped

1/2 cup green peas (I used frozen)


You could use any veggies that you have. Like green beans, potato, mushrooms, corn, spinach.


Secret!!! When I am SUPER lazy I use frozen corn and baby spinach and make it into Spinach Corn pulao. Which is YUMMY and does not require you to cut any veggies! Haha

I learnt this trick during my residency days from my friend Emaya, who learnt it from her friend Deepu. It used to be my staple meal after a rough 24 hour shift at ICU.


Rice :

1 cup (I used basmati)


Water:

2 cups


TIP:

You could use any amount of rice. Just keep in mind, rice to water ratio should be 1:2


Also I like to have more veggies and less rice in pulao. You can have any ratio per your preference.


You could even have no veggies and just make a Jeera Pulao. Especially when you have a lot of side dishes. So basically all ingredients except for the veggies.


You could also add protein like paneer, tofu, garbanzo beans etc.


Method:




Switch the IP to saute mode. Heat the oil and add in the seasonings except for salt. Then saute the aromatics. Add in the veggies, rice, water and salt. Close the IP lid and cook at manual high pressure for 6 minutes. Wait for natural pressure release.


TIP:

You can fluff up the rice with a fork after the pulao is done. This trick amma taught me. It ensures the rice grains don't break and become mushy.


Serve it as it is, with raita, plain yogurt or any curries/subzis.


ENJOY!!!







25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page